Merry Merry Quite Contrary how does the story go?

THE FOLLIES OF A MEREDITH IN OKC

5. YOUR MOTHER’S PERFUME

Leave a comment

my mother is many things.

 

my mother is strong. my mother is beautiful. my mother is compassionate. my mother is intelligent. my mother is fun. my mother is stubborn. my mother is generous. my mother is passionate about making a difference. my mother is hilarious. my mother is modern.  my mother is caring.  my mother is supportive.  my mother has style. my mother is driven. my mother is amazing.

 

 

the one thing my mother does not have, is a signature perfume.  no, she mixes it up.  a lot.  which made me do a mental head slap when i came across this item on the list.  how can i capture an image of what her perfume smells like when she changes in the blink of an eye?

and then, the season changed from winter to spring.  it seemed like in just one day, these massive trees in my neighborhood exploded into delicate white flowers.  the stoic emotion of winter gave way to the renewed promise spring.  and it was never more obvious than when i stood in awe at the strength of these tree boughs encompassed in beauty.

that is my mother.

my mother never lets the challenges of life keep her down.  she scoffs at the thought of remaining stagnant, at being stifled by overwhelming circumstances.

instead, my mother thrives on the possibilities of what she can accomplish.

 

my mother is who i want to be when i grow up.

Author: merrycontrary

Greetings! I'm Meredith Black, an Oklahoma City based photographer. Any time I'm behind the camera lens, I'm a happy camper!

Leave a Reply

