Merry Merry Quite Contrary how does the story go?

THE FOLLIES OF A MEREDITH IN OKC

THANKFULNESS

2 Comments

tis the holiday season, my friends.  the time when turkey day happens and then *BOOM* before you know it, christmas (or your respective decembertime holiday) and then *BAM* a new year comes ringing in. 

and, well, with a holiday that has the word “thank” in it just recently completed, what better time to post a blog about being “thankful”.

  

  

i’ve been thinking about what being “thankful” means a lot recently.  with my world in such a whirlwind of crazy busy, i hate to admit it, but…well…honesty is key here…  i’ve been feeling a lot of things that are mostly uncharacteristic for me.  i’ve been feeling overwhelmed, exhausted, and just this overbearing pressure to get everything done at the level of quality i expect from myself.  as a result of this, i have become so tunnel visioned that i have forgotten something very important…to be thankful for the things, opportunities, and, most importantly, the people i have in my life.

whew.

well, good news folks, i have pulled my head out of my metaphorical you-know-what.  i had a good cry on KKs shoulder, took a hermit-crab day where i did nothing but catch up on sleep and tv, and then took a giant step back to look at my life.

  

  

and you know what?  i have a mountain load of things to be thankful for.  seriously.  a freakin mountain load.  luckily for you, dear reader, i’m not going to list every single thing.  the post would take me way way way too long to write and it would be way way way too long to read.  so i’m going to abbreviate myself.  ok, so it’ll still be lengthy no matter what.  but i’m going to have it only be a “top 15” of thankfulness.

  

in no particular order…

1.  my parental units.

oh my wonderful parental units.  or mom & dad.  or sometimes i like to call them by their first names, Julia & Chris.  while at times they can be the most polar opposites i’ve ever seen, they do have several key things in common.  they are both honest, hard-working, devoted, compassionate, and uplifting people. 

you cannot hang out with my mom and not laugh your butt off.  or feel how much she genuinely cares about her job and the students she works with, and me (of course).  it is impossible.  she’s hip.  she’s cool.  she’s super tall.  and i love her to pieces.

me & my mama llama.

 

my dad…well, my dad is quite the character.  he has a way of making any day better…be it with random pic messages of “king olef” (cohcoh’s toy soldier that he left behind has been on many trips). or dropping off 10 bags of my favorite granola at my store.  he is wise and full of great life lessons.  he seriously needs his own catchy theme song.

me & my dad. he's even nice enough to let me pretend that i'm tall too

 

so, my parents.  i am thankful for them.  they are my biggest cheerleaders, helping me to strive for the giant goals.  and, on the times that i do fall, they are always there to help pick me back up and help mend the pieces.  thank you both for that.

 

2.  the grand parental units.

i only was able to meet 2 of them, my Neena and G-bob.  and golly gee, they are the bestest grand parents a gal could ask for.  my Neena is the coolest lady i know.   and G-bob, he was just phenomenal.

 

3.  my family

they are the wackiest bunch of individuals.  each person is uniquely amazing.  and throw them all together, well, it’s always a fiesta of some sort.  some saying somewhere goes “you don’t choose your family”.  and this is true.  but, if given the choice, i would choose them in a heart beat.  a million times over.  my parents, my brothers, my grandparents, my aunts & uncles, my cousins, my step family, my extended family…i’d pick each and every one of them.  you better believe it.

 

4.  my friends

my friends are an extension of family.  somehow, our paths have delightfully crossed and they become apart of my life.  i’m lucky to have such amazing people in my life.  i’m lucky to have them share their lives with me.  it’d take me forever to list each and every one of them & why they are so special.  so just know, my wonderful friends, that i am so very very thankful to have you in my life.

 

5.  mr bix

he’s my monster puppenstein and i’ll love him forever. 

 

mr bix, my handsome puppenstein

6.  stuff

i am thankful for the things i have…like my condo, my car, the things in my condo, and whatnot.  while i don’t consider myself materialistic, i am very thankful for the things i have.

 

7.  music

it makes the world go round

 

8.  photography

it makes my heart sing.

 

shot by me & KK, edited by KK

9.  KK’s kitchen

it is where many a delish meal is made (like last night’s soup).  and it saves me from eating microwave meals or take out every single night.  not to mention it is a great place to kick it.  and it includes KK, which is a very cool thing.

 

10.  my job

i love my team, i love the company i work for, and i get paid to be there.  thankfulness for that.

 

11.  fall & early winter

it hasn’t yet turned into ice-storms or snow-storms or crazy winter storm palooza weather yet.  crisp fall air.  beautiful colors of red, browns, oranges, and where the grass turns a lovely wheat color.  soup.  awesome fall boots.  holidays.  scarves.  snuggly sweaters.  perfect movie watching days.  having the room be an iceberg while i’m cozy under my giant down comforter.  what’s not to love about fall & early winter?  and therefore i am thankful for it.

 

friends, disc golf, and fall weather...nothin could be better

12.  soups

currently i am on a huge soup kick.  Neena made a yummy chicken enchilada soup the day before thanksgiving that was divine.  and KK made a delish soup the other night (with enough for leftovers!!).  so i have decided that this winter shall be the Winter of Soup.  i can’t cook to save my life, but i am strongly encouraging all the people that cook & let me dine at their house to make soups.  i’ll bring the wine.

 

13.  laughter

there is nothing more catchy than the sound of a genuine laugh.  the kind that rumbles from your toes and comes bursting out.  Cohcoh has the most infectious laugh ever.  he starts to giggle and i can’t help but add my obnoxiously loud cackle to it. 

  

14.  my blog

i haven’t been posting as much.  and i have forgotten how lovely it is.  even if i was the only person in the world to read it, i would still blog.  theraputic?  you betcha. 

15.  everything else

i could go on forever.  but i’m not going to.  i’m just going to add a general “everything else”.  i am thankful for all of the good things, all of the “life lessons” that are disguised as not-so-good things, and everything in between. 

 

 

 

i am a lucky duck.  and i am going to be mindful of taking the time to remember this. 

 

i am thankful.

Author: merrycontrary

Greetings! I'm Meredith Black, an Oklahoma City based photographer. Any time I'm behind the camera lens, I'm a happy camper!

2 thoughts on “THANKFULNESS

  1. Merry Merry….haha, I love that you are thankful for soup! It reminded me of an article I read in Bon Appetit about a girl who started a blog about learning to cook by making soup! The article is actually called “Soup and the Single Girl” and was really cute. Here’s the link to her blog if you need some soup inspiration! http://www.jewelryalchemy.com/soupapolooza/Blog/Blog.html

  2. annie, i am thankful for your comment…and for introducing me to a fantastic blog all about soup!!! i will def check out some of the recipes for the Winter of the Soup :)

Leave a Reply

