Merry Merry Quite Contrary how does the story go?

THE FOLLIES OF A MEREDITH IN OKC

MEET MY DAD…

Leave a comment

…he’s super rad.  possibly the raddest dad i know.

my dad

but then again, i am pretty partial.

 

i could go on for hours about how cool he is, about how funny he is, about how kind, generous, compassionate, and intelligent he is.  seriously, hours.  he’s that awesome.

 

my dad also has amazing taste in music.  he’s responsible for cultivating my love of great music.  and early on, he decided to teach me about the greats…about the Beatles, The Who, Pink Floyd, and of course, Led Zeppelin.  anytime we had a longer car drive, he’d introduce me to a new album.  we’d listen to it over and over.  he’d tell me all about the band, about the inspiration of the album, and why he felt connected to the music.

One of my fondest memories is driving on a hot summer day with him.  he had this great BMW that he drove forever with red leather seats.  he’d had the car for so long that the seats were really broken in, so when you sat down you just sank into the seat.  it smelled like warm leather, polo cologne with a hint of rubber (he’s an avid racquetball player, so his gym bag always had his equipment in it).  so here we were, driving down May avenue with the windows rolled down, the sunroof open, and blasting Rocky Raccoon.  i mean, seriously blasting some freakin Rocky Raccoon from the Beatles’ White Album.  at the stoplight, he’d let me stick my head out of the sunroof.  i thought it was the best thing ever.  i still do…there is nothing better than rockin out to some kick ass tunes while drivin with the windows down.

me & my dad

he’s also incredibly funny.  he is witty, can improv some hilarious songs, and can play some genius practical jokes.  he also can carry a joke on for years, which i have been known to do so i appreciate the heck outta that.  and if you want to play hide-and-seek, he totally kicks ass.  me and my cousins used to play hide-and-seek with my dad when we were younger at my grand bob’s house.  holy bananas.  one time he put books in between the mattress & box springs and hid there.  it took us hours to find him.  another time, he somehow climbed into this tiny cabinet above the sink.  and he’s 6’2″.  i have no idea how he managed to fit up there. 

he's a zany guy

my dad is always there to listen to me.  it could be to tell him about something funny that happened during the day, or about how i’m frustrated with something, or if i am trying to work something out.  it doesn’t matter…he’s always there.  even when i’m a jackass and call him at 3am. 

he gives the best advice.  he’s full of sage wisdom.  he comes up with some of the most creative solutions that i’ve ever heard of.  he’s taught me that with hard work, belief in myself and others, and fun anything is possible.  he always encourages me to try my hardest, to jump the highest i can imagine, and to take the time to enjoy the process.  which is scary…i could fail, and i could fail miserably when i take those big risks.  but i know that he’s there to catch me if i fall.  he’s there to help me metaphorically dust myself off and learn from the experience.  i can hear him now saying “well, meredith, what did you learn from that?  how are you going to change your approach next time?”

this was taken back in the day when i graduated from college...he was pretty proud. and the view of boulder behind us makes me wish i was there right now!

thanks dad, for everything that you do.  thank you for believing in me.  thank you for the introducing me to the rock-n-roll greats.  thanks for coming up with great hiding spots for hide-and-seek.  thank you for making me laugh all the time.  thanks for passing on the gene that gave me your eyes.  thanks for the great advice.  thank you for your encouragement.  thank you for spending time with me.  thank you for reminding me how important it is to find the good in everything.  thanks for letting me borrow the jeep (beep beep). 

dad, thanks for being you.  and thank you for being my dad. 

 

i am one lucky kid.

Author: merrycontrary

Greetings! I'm Meredith Black, an Oklahoma City based photographer. Any time I'm behind the camera lens, I'm a happy camper!

Leave a Reply

