Merry Merry Quite Contrary how does the story go?

THE FOLLIES OF A MEREDITH IN OKC

CLOSE, BUT NOT QUITE

Leave a comment

this morning, i got the long-awaited call.

 

kenny’s all better!  he’s fixed!  he’s fixed!  he’s not broken anymore!!

 

was i excited?  oh, you bet your favorite pair of chuck taylors i was!

i'm pretending that this is me jumping for joy instead of rickford

i totally dig the jeep (beep beep).  it’s been uber convenient and was freakin awesome of the dad to let me borrow it.  not to mention it has been entertaining bumpin the bass to The Black Keys and Vampire Weekend.

 

but the jeep (beep beep) is not my car.  it’s not kenny.

 

so glory be!  my car is ready.

 

oh, wait…i have to pay $1800 to get him out.  a fantastic $800 to get his crater fixed (that’s my bad, so out of my pocket) and the $1000 deductible because they insurance agents still haven’t resolved who’s paying to fix my car.  well, crap.  i don’t have that kind of cash just layin around.  and if i did, it’d probably be spent on something fabulous (um, i’m not the best with the whole “saving” thing…i think i might have mentioned this in the past).  so, of course, i have to ask dad to bail out my car.

pretty please, dad!  help me out and i promise promise promise i’ll pay you back!  dad’s great about helping out, especially if he knows that i’ll be paying him back.

 

so at 5:45 he pays the bill (with solemn promises from me that the second insurance pays me back i’ll write him a check).  and i zoom off to the dealership to pick up my handsome car.

oh, did i forget to mention the shop closes at 6pm?

we barely made it.  barely…like it was 6:02pm.  luckily i had called them ahead of time.

 

they gave me the keys, i took the paperwork, and finally got to sit in my rightful seat…the driver’s side of my car.

 

he looks fantastic.  shiny, new, just like a baby.  the back is fixed (after 2 years.  yeah, yeah, yeah, i’m a slacker) and you can’t even tell that it was wrecked.

 

i’m cruisin back to the store, loving the fact that i’m not bouncing around & feeling like my car once again matches me.  i’m blastin some sweet tunes.  hmmm, that’s weird…i know that song doesn’t have a high note in it.  what could that be?  i turn down the music.  oh, delightful…that noise IS COMING FROM MY CAR!

 

oh, yeah.  kenny looks super shiny and just like new.  but there is something seriously NOT FIXED in the wheel department.

 

awesome.  fan freakin tastic.

 

guess i’m waking my happy ass up early to take kenny back to the dealership.  good thing that shit’s guaranteed.

i have a new mantra.  i have been repeating it to myself since 6:22pm.

just relax, meredith...it's all going to work out

i will not freak out about this. it will all work out.   i will not freak out about this.  it will all work out.  i will not freak out about this.  

i will not freak out about this. it will all work out.   i will not freak out about this.  it will all work out.  i will not freak out about this.  

i will not freak out about this. it will all work out.   i will not freak out about this.  it will all work out.  i will not freak out about this.  

i will not freak out about this. it will all work out.   i will not freak out about this.  it will all work out.  i will not freak out about this.  

i will not freak out about this. it will all work out.   i will not freak out about this.  it will all work out.  i will not freak out about this.

Author: merrycontrary

Greetings! I'm Meredith Black, an Oklahoma City based photographer. Any time I'm behind the camera lens, I'm a happy camper!

Leave a Reply

