Merry Merry Quite Contrary how does the story go?

THE FOLLIES OF A MEREDITH IN OKC

NO PAIN, NO GAIN…RIGHT?

Leave a comment

that’s how the saying goes.  or so i’ve heard. 

   

welcome to day 3 of my “bringing sexy back” mission.  or, as i currently like to call it, hell. 

   

i’ve been working out with my good friend, Roo (i really should call her Sgt Blood but i’ll stick to Roo…she sounds nicer that way), for the past 2 days…tonight will be the 3rd workout.  i originally was going to work out with my cousin, but our schedules just weren’t lining up.  Roo contacted me after the “BRINGING SEXY BACK” post and said she’d be my work out buddy.  or more precisely, the person who shuts down all of my lame excuses for not wanting to go and motivates me to push myself. 

so far so good.  Roo doesn’t accept my whining.  she has a good grasp of what we need to do.  she pushes herself, which makes the competitive side of me want to keep up.  and she’s great company.  added bonus, her apt’s gym has a sauna…thank you, Finland, for inventing the modern-day wooden saunas.  and all of the other cultures who thought of the original idea.  you’re my heros.  *blog high five* 

   

now if only my muscles could be as excited as i am about all of this. 

currently, they are protesting like a teenager who’s been grounded on the night of a big party.  they’ve said “i hate you”, they’ve said “you’re the cruelest person i know!”, a dash of “i wish abby’s parents would adopt me!”, and other hateful things that teenagers say to try to get their way. 

   

seriously, they need to get over it.  i’ve had much much worse work outs (hello, field hockey practices were a bitch.  a seriously evil bitch.  and swim practice, yeesh…don’t even want to go there)…granted i was a good 10 years younger.  wow.  zack morris time-out for a brief freak out about my age.  wait for it…wait for it…ok, i’m back.  i love being 26.  it’s the best age ever.  right?  right. 

   

but no pain, no gain.  or so i’ve heard.  i’m not giving up…so the muscles can just dial it down.  i’m not over working them, i’ve paid attention to my limit.  they just need to get used to working out before porch chillin time and that’s that. 

but until that happens, i think i’m going to get a sled and train mr bix to drag me around.  because my quads hate me the most right now. 

mush, mr bix! mush!

 

verdict?  it’s a draw.  point to ‘010 for me being out of shape and therefore having sore muscles that make walking a bitch.  point to me for not giving up.

Author: merrycontrary

Greetings! I'm Meredith Black, an Oklahoma City based photographer. Any time I'm behind the camera lens, I'm a happy camper!

Leave a Reply

