Merry Merry Quite Contrary how does the story go?

THE FOLLIES OF A MEREDITH IN OKC

GOODBYE MONOPOLY, HELLO HOME INTERNET

Leave a comment

today is looking very promising.  in fact, it has been a glorious morning so far.  first, it’s wednesday…my 2nd favorite day of the week.  secondly, i just found out that u-verse is finally available in my area.  a fact that makes me want to do a dance out of sheer happiness.  and in fact, i just did.  the happy dance included a heel-click and a spin move, if you were wondering.

gone are the days of cox cable having a monopoly on my condo complex.  the HOA can’t force me to use cox, with the super awesome line that runs through the picture and has yet to be fixed. woo hoo!  and, added bonus, i can now get internet bundled without having to get a home phone.  yes, my friends, i don’t have home internet.  but soon i will.  gone will be the days of buying a $5 cup of coffee to download sick jams.  no longer will i have to sit outside my door like a creeper in the night to “borrow” internet from an unsuspecting neighbor (luckily all the old people in my complex don’t know how to password protect their wireless).  and KK will be delighted that i won’t spend the majority of my time at her house surfing the web.

ah, happy day.  it’s just the right amount of happiness to carry me through the upcoming doom and gloom of Armageddon part 2…or so the newscasters say.  it’s hard to imagine that in 24 hrs, the sunny 60 degree weather will turn into the ice-shit-storm that will rival WINTER STORM 2009 (that was said in a super scary voice).  but, that’s the way oklahoma weather is.  keep your fingers crossed that i survive it without power failure and that my car will be able to make it out & about without sliding like a roller skate on snot.  which reminds me, i will need to get groceries.  if i’m going to survive Armageddon, i think i’ll need more than 3 potatoes and parmesan cheese (which is the current content of my fridge).

but doom and gloom be damned, i am going to have both internet AND cable at my house soon.  add in my recent, semi-grudgingly, twitter enrollment and i am now a totally modern gal.

oh, and if you’re looking for new good music to get you through the Armageddon pt 2 here are some of my recent picks.   the pied piper of sick jams (the husband part of one of my favorite couples.  “the ax” is his wife and she is super b’dass.) has introduced me to surfer blood.  and then noodle smirnoff has recommended crystal castles and junior boys, both of which are also amazing.  finally, the lovely Wallflower has inspired me to download the radio dept (but i haven’t had the chance to listen to it yet).

happy wednesday kiddos, hopefully the good times will keep rollin’.

Author: merrycontrary

Greetings! I'm Meredith Black, an Oklahoma City based photographer. Any time I'm behind the camera lens, I'm a happy camper!

Leave a Reply

